MIGHTY PEACE WATERSHED ALLIANCE (MPWA) MINUTES OF THE RE-ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING

Thursday June 20th, 2024 Chateau Nova, Peace River, AB

	Name	Sector
Attendees	Abdi Siad-Omar	Federal Transboundary Relations
	Corinna Williams	Rural Municipalities
	Rick Keillor	Public Member at Large
	Dave Walty	Conservation/Environment
	Chris Thiessen	Large Urban Municipalities, MPWA Chairman
	Wayne Thorp	Forestry
	Elaine Manzer	Small Urban Municipalities
	Sarah Cairns	Agriculture
	Bonnie Segal	Provincial Government
	Brian Lieverse	Recreation/Tourism/Fisheries
	Wendy Patton	Metis Nation of Alberta
	Sandra Miller	Oil and Gas
Absent	Bin Xu	Research/Education
	Ashley Rowney	Utilities
	Cathy Newhook	Watershed Stewardship
	Audrey DeWit	Public Member at large
	Alden Armstrong	Metis Settlements General Council
Staff	Rhonda Clarke - Gauthier	Executive Director
	Adam Norris	Watershed Coordinator

1. ADMINISTRATION

1.1. Welcome and Introductions

The Chair C. Theissen called meeting to order at 3:50 PM

R. Clarke-Gauthier provided information to the Board: 1. This is a governance Board who has one staff person, the Executive Director. All other Staff are under the management of the ED. All Director's are asked to ensure the office has their appropriate contact information including email. Directors may name an alternate, that will then be accepted by the Board.

NOTE: Most communications will be by email. We ask that Directors provide timely responses. Thank you for letting your name stand for this role and I look forward to working with you.

1.2. Election of Executive

The 4 Executive Committee positions (Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary) are up for election at this time. The 5th seat is for the Past Chair. These positions are for 2 years, so term is 2024-2026. Positions are to be filled by Directors and not alternates.

The Chair opened the election:

Nominations for the position of Chair:

C. Williams nominated Chris Thiessen, he accepted the nomination.

Nominations called 3 times. No further nominations were received. E. Manzer moved nominations cease.

Chris Thiessen is the Chair by acclamation.

Nominations for the position of Vice-Chair:

R. Keillor nominated Dave Walty, he accepted the nomination.

Nominations were called 3 times. No further nominations were received. C. Williams moved nominations cease.

Dave Walty is the Vice-Chair by acclamation.

Nominations for the position of Treasurer:

R. Keillor nominated Elaine Manzer, she accepted the nomination.

Nominations were called 3 times. No further nominations were received. B. Lieverse moved nominations cease.

Elaine Manzer is the Treasurer by acclamation.

Nominations for the position of Secretary:

S. Miller nominated Ashley Rowney, she had agreed previously to accept the nomination. Nominations were called 3 times. No further nominations were received.

C. Williams moved nominations cease.

Ashley Rowney is the Secretary by acclamation.

NOTE: The Executive Committee will be: Chair- Chris Thiessen, Past Chair – Rick Keillor, Vice-Chair – Dave Walty, Secretary – Ashley Rowney, and Treasurer – Elaine Manzer.

1.3. Designation of Signing Authorities

Motion: S. Miller/B. Lieverse moved to remove Vern Lymburner as a signing authority.

APPROVED BY CONSENSUS

Motion: S. Miller moved, seconded by B. Lieverse that any 2 of the following 5 are to have signing authority on behalf of the MPWA: Chris Thiessen (Chair), Rick Keillor (Past Chair), Elaine Manzer (Treasurer), Dave Walty (Vice-Chair) and Rhonda Clarke-Gauthier (Executive Director).

APPROVED BY CONSENSUS

1.4. Option to name an alternate:

All Directors have the right to name an Alternate Director. R. Clarke-Gauthier asked the Board members to think of someone they would like to ask to be their alternate for the board. This person should have knowledge of the sector area and an interest in Watershed work. It is a good idea to consider someone from a different location in the watershed and/or a different perspective of the sector. This person is expected to attend at least one meeting in the year. Alternates may attend when Director attends but the Director and Alternate must then speak as one voice on decisions.

Motion: To accept the named alternates of Danny Roy (Rural Municipalities), Jill Henry (Agriculture), Vern Lymburner (Small Urban Municipalities), Trina Tosh (Forestry). Moved by B. Lieverse.

APPROVED BY CONSENSUS

Other Directors wishing to name an alternate are asked to submit an email to Rhonda with the person's full name, address, email, and phone numbers. They will be dealt with at the next board meeting.

1.5. Director Attendance at Meetings

Please note there is an expectation that there will be consistent attendance of directors at Board meetings. R. Clarke-Gauthier will send out an email with organization information including the roles and responsibilities to all Directors. Directors are asked to ensure that they confirm attendance or send regrets for meetings. Meetings are set using a polling platform.

Next meeting will be planned for August – October.

2. ADJOURNMENT

- C. Thiessen thanked all for attending.
- D. Walty adjourned the meeting at 4:20 pm.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR SIGNATURE:

MPWA CHAIRMAN: 4